Woodturning?

I have been swamped. Now, why should that term apply here where it is 102º F in the shade, dry, with high fire danger? The only turning I have been able to do is watch the mixer drum revolve as I mix another batch of earthen plaster. Then it is time to trowel it onto the wall. This continues until the day gets so hot that the plaster starts drying too fast.

Then it is time to work in the garden. I keep the beds weeded and watered. I find and repair the holes where the yellow bellied marmot gets in. He just made jam of the strawberries: jam them into the mouth as quickly as possible. Hence we have nicknamed the marmot “marmalade.”

In spite of Marmalade, the beets (better call them beagles since they are a beet-mangel cross) and the mangeets (a mangel beet cross) are looking good. Squash and corn are growing. Green beans are starting to bloom. Carrots are a bit thin but looking good. And the turnips will soon need pulling.

So the summer, which has only just started, is turning out to be very busy. Now, I have gotten an order. Someone wants me to turn a vegetable pounder!

Ellis Hein

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Woodturning?

  1. Bob says:

    I am a gardener too, We had a very nice spring, with every thing getting ripe early, i live in Md.

    • Ellis Hein says:

      Our spring was kind of funny, a spate of hot weather then a week of near freezing. I was very tempted to plant things early, but when we had several days of temps down to 32, I was glad I held off.

  2. Percy Barr says:

    102 degrees, that’s kinda warm. This morning in Kingston, Ontario it was a mild 62. but we should hit 90 by the weekend. The water shortage is also hit us with 10 less inches of rain. It could be a long summer.
    With your heat I’d welcome some time in the shop out of the sun.

    Enjoy your turning time

    • Ellis Hein says:

      Hi Percy, nice to hear from you. Yes 102 degrees is warm. The shop is made of earth-rammed car tires below grade and strawbale above ground. Those are the walls I am plastering. It will stop air leaks and improve fire retardation. Also provide some insulation. So yes it is nice to step into the shop for a while where it is cool.

      Ellis

Leave a comment