What Is That?

The Chipmunk's Playground

The Chipmunk’s Playground

The Chipmunk Has Been Busy

The Chipmunk Has Been Busy

“Ok, I give up. What is it?”

If those were your words, you are in good company. I have been asking the same question ever since the idea started bugging me.

I could say that at the moment it is unfinished. But neither you nor I would find that answer satisfactory.

I suppose one could use it as a trivet. The hot dish would sit on the four corners of the top. The base sits on the four corners at the bottom. There is plenty of room for air to circulate. But it strikes me that it is too tall to be a good trivet.

So I shall leave the question of identity unsettled for now.

The genesis of the idea is impossible to trace. Yaakov’s Tiki series may have had something to do with it. (I can’t find the direct link, but feel free to roam around his blog.) The wood was scrap pine 2 X 4, rough cut. It has nail holes and other defects; the perfect material for a trial turning blank. Even though it was only meant to be a trial, I like it. And I am pleased with how the chipmunks came out. I like the overall shape and the way the surfaces merge together. It retains the impression of being a cube. But, because of what has been removed, there is so much more than cube there.

Your responses and critiques are very welcome.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in pyrography, woodturning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

