The Inevitable Or The Impossible

In 2004 I started working on a woodturning book. In 2006 Linden Publishing Company became interested. In 2008 the book was for sale. (Follow the link in the signature below for details.) Now the inevitable, or perhaps the impossible, has happened. I received a royalty check; small, but none the less welcome.

I have listened to a number of representatives of the publishing industry and successful authors explain that many books do not pay more than the advance received by the author. Ok, so I have achieved a milestone if not a record. And as satisfying as it is to have done so, it is also satisfying to be able to mail that check to the bank. This is especially true in today’s economy where one publisher told me, “We will pay you when we can,” for an article they had published. I will be glad to receive it, if I receive said payment.

Are any of you writers? Do you have aspirations of writing a book? I can point to at least two benefits. As a published author, I have more credibility when submitting articles for publication in magazines. The second benefit is that I enjoy my turning more. The process of writing and photographing my turning forces “production” into the background and brings process to the fore.

I have now crowed long enough. It may not be as much crowing as the Apostle Peter’s rooster, but this seems sufficient.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Inevitable Or The Impossible

  1. mikenutt says:

    Ellis, I did get your book from the library and thought the photography was quite good. Did you take the photos yourself?

Leave a Reply

