My cup of Tea

All the Fixings Ready to Hand.

All the Fixings Ready to Hand.

I don’t drink green tea, black tea, or coffee. I’m not interested in caffeine. But peppermint tea is altogether a different story. So this time of year it is nice to have mugs and tea balls close to hand.

This cup tree could be made out of turned stock, but this time I let the tree do the work for me. All I had to do was find the right branch. Yes, there was the necessary trimming, peeling, and installing the dowels. But again the tree did some of this. If you drill the holes and insert dry dowels while the cup tree is still green, it will shrink onto the dowels making them secure.

The two small legs were splayed out too much, so I tied them together to hold them in place while drying. I trimmed the legs to the right length so the cup tree is upright and all four hit on a level surface. Now all the fixings can be there waiting for you.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in rustic woodworking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

