More Lilies

Robert Henri, author of The Art Spirit, required his students to look at the subject, then go to another room to do the sketching or painting. This would develop an understanding of each line and each brushstroke. In my case, it would have developed physical fitness.

Three lily vessels

On my first two lily vessels (the two on the right), I copied the flower from an illustration in a plant book. The third one came from a photograph. And it is this one that reveals my lack of understanding of the lily.

When I compare number three to the photo, I see many things that need improvement. For instance all three petals should curl over at the outer edge and their corners should not be so rounded.

I am thinking I hear Henri telling me, “Go look at the flower AGAIN.”

Ok, so I have more vessels to turn and pyrograph. You may think I should do my practicing on a piece of paper to save wood. But my canvas is the curving exterior of a hollow form.

I will report back later to see what kind of grade I get next time.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

You can leave a comment on this post to give your opinion of the vessels or contact me directly by filling in the contact form below

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in Art, pyrography, woodturning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

