Solar Kiln

It has been too long since my last post. I have been snowed under, literally. Snow storm after snow storm has come through. Then comes the wind. The ridge creates many eddies and a lot of backflow. All of which can be seen by the dancing ice crystals in the air. It is fun to watch giant whirlwinds as they spin their way down and across the face of the slope. Sometimes they all but dissipate only to regather their energies. All this means I am kept busy providing the necessary firewood.

One day, while splitting wood, I thought of a simple method of speeding up the drying process. I had been stacking some of the wood against the earthern plastered, south wall of my shop. All I needed was to take some used sheets of plexi-glass, attach them to a framework, and set this in front of the stock. Next day it was done. Then came the wind.

I rebuilt it, this time so that it will withstand the wind, yet not be too hard to move out of the way to take out dry wood and put in wet. It is performing quite well. Today with ambient temperatures of almost 40° F, the wood in the kiln was about 70° F. The ends are open and so is the top. So given the design, I would say that was pretty good.

Later, when I am not needing this for wood, I think I will try it out on watermelons, cantaloupe, or maybe cucumber. I will know how it works for that application later.

I will try to get some photos of this kiln posted.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

See my other blog at Hein Family Enterprises.

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

