This Too Is Wood Turned Art

In what seems like another lifetime, I considered making a career of building and repairing acoustical instruments. Today I am keeping warm and listening to the music from my wife’s cello. It is interesting to notice how different frequencies resonate in different areas of my body. Did the coals in the stove start glowing more brightly because of vibrations set up in the stove pipe? These are my musings today; perhaps my excuses for not facing the less than ideal temperatures at my lathe. But this is also wood being turned to art. Besides, I will be doing plenty of “woodwork” this afternoon sawing and splitting more firewood in preparation for the cold and snow coming for a visit. No, I did not invite them. I think they are just passing through on their way to you. Send them home by some other route, please.

Ok, the music has stopped. I have to get going. I have several woodturning articles to finish writing, and they won’t do it without me holding the pencil.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

