Square Poker

I’ll See Yore 5 And Raise You Another 5

This all started with Yaakov, a professional woodturner and furniture maker, who posted a blog about his Tiki 1, which inspired my Con Tiki [sic].Yaakov then raised the stakes with his underwater volcano before I could complete my current effort.

Con Tiki suggested a theme of crossed bear claws with a profile that suggested a totem pole. I decided to attempt to expand on those designs.

Bear With Me One Moment

This vessel has bear claws on the lower portion of the four faces and pyrographed bears patrolling around the top. Each side is pierced with three holes; 3/4 inch, 5/8 inch, and 1/2 inch diameter. The purpose of the holes is to add interest or perhaps allow the vessel to be used as a night light with a battery and LEDs. They also served as an easy guide for hollowing. Since each hole was drilled 1/2 inch deep with a forstener bit, when chips began flying out of the holes, I knew I was within 1/2 inch of cutting clear through.

Footprints going in and out of the holes tell a different story on each face. On one face, human tracks lead into the middle hole while bear tracks go in at the bottom. On the next face, human tracks come out the bottom while bear tracks emerge from the middle. The third panel has only bear tracks. What happened to the human? The fourth panel shows only human tracks that lead toward one of the patrolling bears at the top. You can tell your own story.

The darkened piece in the center of the top is a pyrographed insert made from the cut off from that end of the old, oak 4 X 4 used to turn this vessel. It is a good fit and a good match of grain.

Hollow out the vessel

The insert also has a hole through its center. This gives the appearance that this vessel was hollowed out through a 7/8 inch diameter hole; a gratifying deception but not possible with my current selection of tools.

I am no poker player even though I live in the west where large sums of money, huge tracts of land, as well as human life depended upon the luck (or skill) of the draw. I am certain Yaakov is working with a full house. Is it time for me to fold my hand and quit while I am still in one piece and above ground?

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Square Poker

  1. Torch02 says:

    I love the back and forth the two of you have going with these “square” turnings. Don’t think of it as a competition (trust me – all of both of your readers are winning here), but think of it as each of you pushing the other to a better place.

    • Ellis Hein says:

      You are absolutely right. The only real competition is between me and me. Can I improve on what I have done? Can I grow in my ability? Can I learn from my mistakes or wrong turns? I too love what is happening as Yaakov and I bounce ideas back and forth. I wish this were happening more. I have some Taylor relatives down in Houston, TX. Are you related?

Leave a Reply

