Keeping On Center

live center

When I purchased my Oneway live center and its associated center options, I thought I had everything I needed. But sometimes, I need a way to hold the off end of an object, such as a hollow form, that does not leave the black ring left by the aluminum large cone center. Thus I started making my own centers out of wood. The live end of my center has 3/4 by 10 tpi.

I can drill a 5/8 inch hole into side grain of a piece of wood and turn it onto the live center, forming threads in the wood as it goes. Below are a couple of centers I have made. One is a rounded center to fit into a hole, the other is a reverse cone that will center a cylinder smaller than what is possible with the factory supplied reverse cone center.

Rounded Center

Reverse Cone Center from Boxelder

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

