A More Ancient Form Of Woodworking

In 2006, a fire killed all the trees on the trees on the higher portion of our land. The ridge, which once bore beautiful ponderosa pines, was left with blackened and charred snags. This summer, a windstorm blew down a large pine log on top of my barbed wire fence. While the fence is down anyway, I thought, there are four other dead trees that had better come down before they also fall across the fence.

So for a number of days I have been climbing the ridge carrying axe, saw, drinking water, and rope. There I engage in a more ancient style of woodworking.

Remove the Branches


Once a tree is down, my next job is to lop the branches, saw the trunk into manageable lengths, tie on my rope, and pull the log section or bundle of branches to our firewood stock pile.

Alright Now PULL


Two sections got turned a little sideways and went down hill on their own. I do claim to be a wood turner, but it wasn’t this I had in mind. I now have to drag one section through all the rocks in the ditch.

Anyone wanting to take lessons needs to apply soon. (Reasonable rates of tuition.) Spaces remaining are limited!

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

