Serendipity

Willow Needle Case


That is what happens when you need to cut a stake for supporting some plants in your garden and discover a beautiful turning wood in the process.

We have some peachleaf willows (I think) growing along a small stream. I have always “known” that willow wood was not good for much. I have turned some black willow and noted that it is a “not-so-bad-wood-to-work-with.”

I was surprised and delighted to see the finish, grain and color of this willow wood revealed by the first stroke of my machete. As soon as I finished the garden chore, I collected some dry willow limbs and started turning. The small needle case pictured here is one of the outcomes.

The wood of this willow leaves a nice finish behind a sharp gouge or skew. It is not hard to cut and sands and finishes well. The soft luster on this piece is from buffed beeswax.

If you want to try some of my willow, look for me somewhere in Nebraska. I am not there and neither are my trees.

Ellis Hein

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

