The Arachnid And The Snake

Caragana Spider


I glued up the caragana arachnid maybe four years ago before packing up my shop and putting my tools into storage. I ran across it while going through boxes trying to get things arranged in my new space. Since I had been just going around in circles trying to decide what was most important to get done, I decided to get back to this odd project.

“What is it?” you may be asking. Well, when it is finished it will be a decorative wall hanging; a fancy, hot pot stand; or one of those objects that make people say, “Oh that’s nice! What is it?”

If it turns out decent, I’ll post a picture of the finished project.

Annette Has The Snake

In the midst of my day, I noticed several catbirds fussing in the chokecherries where they nest. After carefully looking, I first spied the tail of a snake just going into the chokecherries. I next noticed an immature catbird, not really old enough to be out of the nest, sitting on a low branch. I called my children to come see. We stood watching as the snake slowly maneuvered into position. Then in a sequence of motions, too fast to follow, the snake had the bird, my daughter dived into the bushes and had the snake, and the snake released the baby.

Who has Whom?

We released the snake over the hill and peace once more has settled over all our nests.

Anyone able to identify the snake?

Ellis Hein

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Arachnid And The Snake

  1. Tom Hill says:

    I would be inclined to think that the snake is what is known as a rough green snake or a yellowbellied racer (but the racers are distributed more in the south).

    • Ellis Hein says:

      Thanks Tom, I will have to hunt up my book on amphibians and reptiles and see if I can look it up. You have given me a place to start. I’ll see what they have to say.

Leave a Reply

