Box Elder, A Trash Tree

Box Elder Vessel, First View


I noticed the branch while cleaning up some fallen limbs. Most of that wood went to the stove. But this section with the confluence of three limbs, I set aside. Yesterday I had a couple hours to wait while glue was drying on another project, so I decided to cut into this bit of box elder. I knew it ought to produce something nice.

Box Elder, Second View


Box elder is considered a “trash tree” by those who know about ornamentals and such things. And perhaps they have good reason for their opinions; I am not arguing one way or the other. The habits of box elder show up in these two photos: red streaks in otherwise creamy white wood and a tendency to divide into three terminal branches. On or two of the branches usually fail to develop. But when the tree keeps all three, it makes nice turnings.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

Have you seen the plans I have up for sale for the space saving cabinet?

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

