More Juniper

Another Juniper Vessel

I have spent the week on many things, including a little time for turning. During the interval, I have been studying the shape of the piece I posted last week, and have concluded that it is too much like a light bulb. So it has been back to the lathe for another attempt.

Here is yesterday’s results. This piece has a lot going for it. It has the right shape and some interesting grain. I could wish for more exposed heartwood, but I will get to that part of the broken out tree top later.

Box Elder Vessel by Lewis Hein


Here is a piece turned by my 16 hear-old son. He reported that “the shape improved when I had to turn away a catch near the base.” This piece is box elder and shows a lot of promise. Of course, I am an impartial judge of this.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Juniper

  1. Andy Coates says:

    Hello Ellis,
    I hope you’ll forgive me, but I prefer the shapes of your Son’s vessel. The difference (for me) is in the ratio of height, diameter (at widest point) and base diameter. Your son’s is shorter, squat almost, and the base size compliments the maximum diameter a little better. If you swung your curve in a little more I think you’d have it spot on.

    I also like the coved rim detail on your son’s piece, but this isn’t a criticism of yours, just an appreciation of his.

    Hioe you don’t mind this!

    Andy

    • Ellis Hein says:

      Hello Andy,
      Thanks for the critique of my piece and for the compliment on my son’s work. I am delighted that he should be able to surpass my efforts. And yes, I think your criticism of my effort is right. It needs to be cut in a little more to be right. However, being now off the lathe, it stands as is. So next time round …

      Ellis

Leave a Reply

