Jamieson Hollowing Tool

Aspen Vessel

Not too long after my trial of the Proforme Hollowing tool, mentioned in my previous post, I was contacted by a convention organizing company to provide a number of hollow, aspen vessels for a client of theirs. The deadline was short, but possible if I got started right away. If I waited for the final OK from the client, there was no chance of completing the project. Wisdom would now say, “I start when I have money in hand, and I need X amount of time to complete the job.” But my wisdom was still on back-order. This looked like a good chance, so I took the gamble.

I considered getting the Proforme to do this job. But then decided that with the large amount of work to be done, I had better have something like the Jamieson Hollowing Tool. So I ordered the Jamieson from Craft Supplies, USA, and went off to collect the necessary aspen.

The Jamieson arrived in due course, and I started in on my pile of logs. I was delighted at how easy it was to hollow the interior. The tool took all the torque, leaving me free to guide the cutter. Such an improvement over trying to do this work with scrapers as I had done before! And for the job I was facing, this was the tool of choice.

The Proforme has its advantages. I like the way its cutter performed better than the tool bit in the Jamieson. However, I did ok roughing out with the tool bit and cleaning up with the shear scraper.

You, no doubt, can predict my folly. The client decided not to order the aspen vessels. My back-order of wisdom arrived at about the same time.

I have sold several of the aspen vessels, so the venture was not a total disaster. Besides, I still have the hollowing tool. That purchase might have remained on my wish-list for years.

Ellis Hein, author of The Woodturner’s Project Book

Have you seen the plans I have up for sale for the space saving cabinet?

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in woodturning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

