Birthday Thoughts

Well, today is my birthday, not that I have expected you to know.

They told me I was over the hill when I was thirty. Ok, I have gone twice that distance now and it still feels like I am pulling the uphill side of the grade. I keep wondering how far till I can coast? They tell me I should be thinking of retiring soon. The only thing that happens when I re-tire is that I have another 50,000 miles to go before the current set wears down to the carcass. The other option is to run on U.S. Baldies, but, thank you, my hair is getting thin enough. They advised me that the best philosophy of life was to plan carefully and then fly by the seat of your pants. Fine, but the backside of my britches is getting rather indecent. So I shall hope all of you are on the trail ahead of me, no matter what your age.

When people ask me, “How old are you?” I have to answer, “I don’t know. I haven’t had time to feel old yet.”

But I have achieved 60 years today. I am still all here and in working order, thanks to the grace of God, so must get on with the day.

I hope you all enjoy my birthday. It is a beautiful day here. Yesterday’s snowfall has nearly disappeared.

Ellis Hein

About Ellis Hein

I am a woodturner and the author of The Woodturner's Project Book. I have a life-long interest in the gospel preached by George Fox and the early Quakers. You can see some of my material on that subject at http://nffquaker.org/profiles/blog/list?user=1zw2th7nj9p89.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

